Child endangerment includes an allegation of placing a child in a life-threatening or dangerous situation, or where the child could be injured. Depending on the severity of the allegations, child endangerment can be sentenced as either a misdemeanor or a felony.
The prosecution must prove that a defendant, in the state of Colorado, knowingly and with intent, placed the child in an unreasonable position where they were threatened and could sustain harm. In the case that these elements are proven, a defendant will be convicted of child endangerment.
The punishment for child endangerment in Colorado ranges from a minimum of a $50 fine for a Class 3 misdemeanor to a maximum of 12 years in prison and a $750,000 fine. In addition to these penalties, there are enhancing factors such as if the defendant has any prior criminal history or if the defendant was in a position of trust.
Need Legal Representation?
If you've been charged with a crime, it is imperative that you get fair and honest legal representation as soon as possible. Krizman Law specializes in providing relentless criminal defense for our clients. Contact us today for a free, no-obligation review of your case. Call 720.819.7317 or fill out our online form.