Following the legalization of recreational marijuana in Colorado, knowing what is legal and what is illegal not always clear and sometimes difficult to navigate. Even though recreational use is legal, some marijuana offenses can be serious and law enforcement still continues to crack down on marijuana offenses in cases where the possession is against the law. In Colorado possession of more than 1 ounce of marijuana can lead to a petty offense of a $100 fine, but this can increase to felony levels when an individual possesses more than 12 ounces, carrying penalties of 6 months to 2 years in jail and up to a $100,000 fine.
Possession of more than 8 ounces of marijuana is treated as possession with the intent to sell which can also increase the penalties you face if charged. Sale of marijuana of fewer than 4 ounces is a misdemeanor while in the most severe cases of sale of greater than 50 pounds, penalties of 8 to 32 years in prison and up to $1,000,000 in fines can accompany charges.
There are also many offenses when distributing marijuana to minors, cultivating marijuana, growing too many plants at home, possession of concentrates, and even medical marijuana offenses. In addition, some cities have carved out special laws within their municipal jurisdictions which are more restrictive than state law.
Though recreational use of marijuana may be legal, there are still many possible offenses that law enforcement officers are looking to arrest you for.
If you have been charged with a marijuana offense, it is critical that you have an experienced and relentless marijuana attorney on your side. Call Krizman Law today at 303-529-2677.
Need Legal Representation?
If you've been charged with a crime, it is imperative that you get fair and honest legal representation as soon as possible. Krizman Law specializes in providing relentless criminal defense for our clients. Contact us today for a free, no-obligation review of your case. Call 720.819.7317 or fill out our online form.