Typically, when we think of a DUI or DWAI, we think of drunk driving. However, DUI and DWAI are not just limited to being impaired by alcohol. In 2015, following the passage of legalized use and possession of recreational marijuana, DUI laws were expanded to encompass both DUIs for alcohol and DUIs for drugs. Previously, these were separate laws, but after Amendment 64 was passed, Colorado lawmakers decided to include DUID (Driving Under the Influence of Drugs) with DUI for alcohol.

Though there is still much debate about what should be the legal limit for driving with marijuana in your system, in 2013 a limit was set at 5 nanograms per milliliter of THC. This means that a driver pulled over who tests for 5 ng/ml or more is liable to be arrested for DUID. Since many tests for marijuana cannot be completed on scene, the limit for ng/ml is extended to being either at the time of driving or within a reasonable time afterward.

For a first DUID offense, it is treated the same as a DUI, and offenders face penalties of up to 1 year in jail and up to a $1,000 fine. Conviction of DUID is also accompanied by a 9-month license suspension. On top of these penalties, people found guilty of DUID are also faced with other fees and penalties like substance abuse treatment and community service.

Due to the high amounts of dissent among scientists, the limit on marijuana in your system is under constant fire and up for debate. Every DUID case is different and because of this uncertainty, it is very important to have the help of a highly skilled and experienced DUID attorney working on your side. If you have been charged with DUID, it is important to have a successful defense attorney fighting for your rights. If you are looking for a relentless defense attorney, call Krizman Law today at 303.529.2677.

Marijuana & DrivingDriving While High: Understanding Colorado’s DUID Laws