Client was arrested on their 3rd DUI in a hit and run. After police investigations, client also received charges of careless driving, hit and run, and failure to remain at the scene of an accident, compulsory insurance, violation of a Protection order, and violation of bail bond condition. In Colorado, a 3rd DUI carries a minimum sentence of 60 days of jail and a maximum of 1 year.
Through a detailed review of the evidence, Krizman Law found that the client had incorrectly been accused of a third DUI. The client plead guilty to a deferred judgment on their first DUI, meaning that under Colorado DUI Statute, it could not be counted. Krizman Law was, therefore, immediately able to get the charge reduced from 3rd DUI to 2nd. After the reduction, the prosecution offered immediate sentencing for ten days of in-home detention.
Seeing that the prosecution was on the retreat, Krizman Law went on the attack, providing extensive mitigation to the state. Through practiced negotiation with the prosecutor, Krizman Law was able to get the sentencing reduced from 60 days of jail to 10 days with an ankle monitor.
Need Legal Advice?
If you are in Colorado and have been charged with a crime, contact Krizman Law TODAY for a free, confidential, no-obligation review of your legal case.
As you deal with an arrest or any criminal charges, you are going to require an attorney who is competent and efficient in handling your case. Colorado Criminal Defense Attorney Casey A. Krizman is experienced and available to defend the rights of his clients and navigate them to a positive result. Mr. Krizman handles cases with his relentless will, and with aggressive, zealous, and caring advocacy. Call Krizman Law today at 720.819.7317.